Many brides-to-be dream of having a St. Augustine Beach wedding. But not many future brides know how to start planning for one. Once you find the perfect St. Augustine beach wedding location but before selecting dresses, colors, flowers or any other crucial details, you need to know whether the city, county or state owns that part of the St. Augustine coastline. More importantly, since all beaches are public, you will need to know which of the St. Augustine Beach wedding permits is right for you on your special day.
Kinds of St. Augustine Beach Wedding Permits
There are multiple St. Augustine beach stretches that are ideal for a beach wedding. Some St. Augustine beaches are owned by the state of Florida. Others are owned by St. John’s county and others are owned by the city of St. Augustine Beach itself. Each government entity requires a different application, a different usage fee and has a different amount of wait time before receiving approval. Each kind of beach has specific rules and regulations, too. Florida Beach Weddings has all the information at their fingertips and is happy to take that concern off your list.
For those wanting to go it alone, we offer the following information. Please note that the process can be confusing and frustrating so it’s best to leave it to the professionals like Florida Beach Weddings.
Florida State Park Beach Wedding Permits
State Park beaches, like Anastasia State Park, have always been a destination of choice for weddings because of their absence of buildings and abundance of large parking lots. Florida beach permits cost $53 for 25 or fewer guests. For more than 25 guests, the cost increases to $212. The Parks Division of the Florida State Department of Environmental Protection will process your request. It’s best to apply three to six months in advance.
St. John’s County Beach Beach Wedding Permits
One County beach access point in particular, located at the end of Dondanville Road, has fine white sand and drive-on parking. The special event permit fee for this location is $100 and other St. John’s County beaches. Inquire online and you will be sent an electronic application form. The average wait time for processing the permit is two weeks.
City of St. Augustine Beach Wedding Permits
There are many Inns and Resorts on the beach in St. Augustine that offer wedding packages but leave little room for personal touches. If you get married on the grounds, you don’t need a permit. If you want the ceremony on the beach at a hotel, the City of St. Augustine Beach collects the permit fee. No matter which beach lodging accommodations you pick, you will need to send a separate check payable to the City of St. Augustine Beach in the amount of $100 along with the local beach permit application. Some hotels may offer to do this for you but most let you take care of that task. The city government of St. Augustine Beach will provide the application.
Avoid the St. Augustine Beach Wedding Permit Red Tape
Many brides-to-be are way too busy planning the big event in addition to working on their career and enjoying single life, to be researching and applying for St. Augustine Beach wedding permits. Florida Beach Weddings takes the work out of selecting the perfect location. Just tell Florida Beach Weddings your location requirements and they will suggest specific sites for your consideration. If any permits are required, they will obtain them for you and add the cost of the permit to the price of your St. Augustine Beach wedding package.